About me

Hello! Welcome to my classroom web page!

My name is Jordan Whyte. I was born in Victoria and raised in Metchosin . I attended Dunsmuir Middle School and Belmont Secondary School. In late 1999, I began my studies at Camosun College and then transferred to UVic’s B.Ed program. As a graduate of the secondary education program, my specialty areas are the humanities: history, social studies, visual arts and multimedia. I speak some Japanese, some Thai and Khmer. I’ve also taught in BC’s Cariboo-Chilcotin and Sooke school districts as well as overseas in Thailand and Macao, China.

From August 2009 to July 2013 I taught at the International School of Macao (TIS), an Alberta curriculum offshore school, in Macao SAR, China. TIS provides technology enriched student-centred education for its ethnically diverse student population.

To engage students; my goal is to bring hands-on learning into the classroom while meeting the goals of the curriculum. Most importantly, I am a passionate educator who believes in putting students first.  I am an advocate of student-centred learning environments. I passionately believe in project-centred and Inquiry-based learning that can be applied in and outside the classroom.

As well as being employed as a teacher, I am also a photographer, digital content producer, amateur rocketeer, history buff and world traveler.

                                          Below is a very small sampling of my photographic work over the past few years.

I am also married. My wife Paveena is from Thailand. She is a new immigrant to Canada.

557962_463908730300497_1224689347_n

Below are links to my 7 day trip to Cambodia that I organized for TIS students in March 2012 and my linkedin portfolio.

Links: 

Click here to view The International School of Macao’s – Cambodia trip 2012.

Click the link below to see my linkedin profile.

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jordan-whyte/20/38a/3ba

What does Macao look like?  Here are 2 short videos about this fascinating area near Hong Kong.

 

Leave a Reply

